How I Came to Play Bass Guitar

Posted: June 15, 2013 in Storytime
Tags: , , , ,

Around Thanksgiving time in 1995, I gave my friend John a call to see if he wanted to get together to play guitar.  We met one evening and played acoustic songs by Def Leppard, the Scorpions, and Live.  It was a pleasant enough distraction from life that we decided to get together again in a couple weeks.  Turns out that we both enjoyed it enough to make it a regular outing, so we decided on every Tuesday night.

With regular practice happening weekly at John’s apartment, we were starting to realize our talents and shortcomings alike.  Fortunately, one of our shortcomings was easily remedied – we had no bass player.  It was obvious at the outset that John was a better guitar player, and since we were playing with a drum machine, if I played bass, then we’d have the three essential elements of a real band.  So I went to the store and bought my first bass, not really knowing anything about it.  It was a used red 4-string Ibanez SR300.  I walked into Guitar Center, picked it up, plugged it in, played one note, and said “Yup, that’s the one. I want it.”

And I still have it.

Image

Leave a Reply

