One Good Reason to Bang Your Head

Posted: June 16, 2013 in Storytime
Tags: , , , , ,

You’ve seen it before – rock musicians banging their head along to their music as they’re playing it on stage. I did it too, trying to look the part while performing, but one night I had a very good reason to do it.

As I was trying my best to look like a rock star, I opted to wear contact lenses when I performed, because glasses just didn’t cut it for the scene. No big deal, really, except that one night, when we were playing at The Tank, the stage lights were particularly hot, and the sweat started pouring down my face and into my eyes. I waited for the right moment when I had a free hand (not often for us bassists) and wiped the sweat out of my eyes. Unfortunately, I also shoved the contact lens up under my eyelid. Now, if you’ve ever worn contacts, you know that if they are in any place but exactly where they should be, it feels like sand in the eye. Up under the eyelid is no exception, and I had a moment or two of freaking out, but I kept playing, trying to decide how I was going to get the contact back onto my eye without using my hands. We were in the middle of the song, so waiting was not an option. I decided that banging my head up and down might somehow get the contact to fall back into place, and I never banged my head so well as I did while playing Mantis that night. After a few measures, the contact did in fact fall back into place, and we finished the song and set with no one the wiser.

So … if you ever see a musician banging his head, just know that it might be function over form đŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

