The Watery Eye – Song Titles

Posted: June 16, 2013 in Storytime
Tags: , , , ,

As promised, here are the reasons behind the song titles on The Watery Eye.

What Lies Ahead – I thought this album was so awesome that I couldn’t wait for you to hear what lies ahead. Like you’d be jumping in your jeans or something.

Voice of an Angel – I tried to convince myself that I could write a song with an acoustic guitar, and this proved it for me. I envisioned lyrics from the start, so I made plenty of room, and Melody did a wonderful job. Because she wrote the words, I let her name the tune. Prior to Voice of an Angel, it was called NGCSX and NGCEP, which meant New Guitar song recorded with Cubase SX software, and then New Guitar song recorded with Cool Edit Pro software. You see, sometimes, a musician has to be creative; otherwise the experimental folder on my computer would be full of songs called New Piano Song 1, New Piano Song 2, New Guitar Song 3, etc.

Shawnee – My original idea was to introduce three melodies, one at a time, and have them play all at the same time. I actually pulled it off! I called it Shawnee because I was on vacation in the Poconos Mountains at Shawnee on Delaware when I wrote it. First and only time I had ever brought a keyboard on vacation, and I’m glad I took it out and used it.

Motive #6 – The keyboard I bought in 2003 is a Yamaha Motif6. This song is the first one I wrote using that keyboard, so I nudged the title around slightly. Turns out that version 6 was around the longest, right up until the end, when I freshened it up. If you wanna hear something cool, listen to the rain falling at the end. Once the thunder dies down, you can hear the beep beep sound of a truck backing up.

The Way Out (Soundscape) – Every four measures, one instrument is introduced and one is taken away to create a continuously variable soundscape of ambience. I added “The Way Out” to the title because … I don’t remember. I think I was actually just trying to be all mysterious and cool.

Wait a Minute – OK, this one is the black sheep on the album. I was asked in 2003 to write a jingle for a company called Assist 2 Sell. They provided me with just the vocal part that would appear at the end of the 60 second clip, and it was my job to write 60 seconds of music around it. Based on the melody they gave me and the tempo, I came up with this little ditty. The jingle was rejected, so I decided to let the world hear my effort. If any song ever gets stuck in your head after five seconds, this will be the one. And for your listening enjoyment, I extended it by almost 20 seconds. That’s 33% more … FREE!

Song for My Sisters – It’s a story about helping loved ones deal with the death of a parent. My own title for this song was Anthem, which is a tune my first band, The Dark, wrote. Its title prior to that was just Ant, because we saw an ant crawling across the floor of our rehearsal space when we decided to name it. You want creativity, you got it! We changed it to Anthem because the original version had lots of electric guitars which gave it a huge sound. Like an anthem, eh?

Deserted Arizona Gas Station – DAGS is the experimental song on The Watery Eye. My idea was simple enough – to write a song where each sound would come from my acoustic guitar. The guitar parts are obvious. The bass line is simply a guitar line with the bass boosted and the treble cut. For the drums, I placed the microphone in various locations and tapped, smacked, and hit the guitar to make each of the pieces of a drum kit. I love the way this song came out. The actual “song” is an old tune called Anxiety from my first band, sans lyrics, of course, because the acoustic guitar hasn’t learned how to sing yet. When my friend Heffe heard the first demo of the song, which I had called All Acoustic, he said “I feel like I’m sitting at a deserted Arizona gas station.” Need I say more? Check the inside of the CD booklet for a Dawn’s great snapshot of just such a place. If you listen carefully to the fade out at the end, you can hear my chair creaking. The last remnants of drum sounds pan from left to right, and it sounds like Stewie from the Family Guy running across the studio.

A Taste of Nylon – Ahh, yes, the taste of nylon. Nylon guitar, that is. That’s the primary sound in this song, and I was just giving the listeners a taste of it. What’s unique about this song is that I found the sound on the keyboard, hit the record button, and played for about four minutes. What you hear is exactly what I came up with. I had no idea what I was going to play at any given time. I think it came out pretty cool. There are some misconceptions about the title, though. Others say they got a different vibe, based on the title itself, a vision of, well, a woman’s nylons and how one might go about getting a taste of them. I’ll let you figure out the rest for yourself, but I proclaim this much – if you ever wanted to have sex to an Epiphora song, this is the one.

Equinox (Parts I & II) – If you own my first CD, Get This, and made it all the way to track 8, then you know Seventh Ember. This song is the union of the fourth and fifth embers. The sixth ember was so close in sound to the seventh that it would be redundant, but I thought these two sounded different enough. They were separate songs originally, but being the same tempo and key, I was able to blend them together to make one song. Why Equinox? Well, Seventh Ember is an Epiphorian bastardization of the word September. The fourth and fifth embers refer to June and July, centered around the summer solstice. I could have called the song Solstice, but I prefer the word Equinox – it’s worth more in Scrabble. Trivia – if you look at the CD face, you’ll notice that my graphic artist wrote “1 & 11” instead of “I & II.”

Sad But True – Another song with lyrics, this one is very sad, yet hopeful. Another fine set of lyrics from Melody. I had offered this tune to others before I met her, but no one was able to come up with any words. Given the final product, I’m glad no one did. The original title was Brick, because I didn’t want to call it New Piano Song 45 or whatever, and since the song Brick by Ben Folds Five is another piano-based dirge, I gave them a nod, if only temporarily. This song rounds out the album beautifully, leaving you wanting to hear the whole thing again, I hope.

Leave a Reply

