Peanut Butter & Jelly

Posted: June 23, 2013 in My Music, Storytime
Tags: , , , , ,

My drummer friend Jeff had been asking me to come to his place to jam for years, and the day we finally found a common time to do it, we were lucky to get guitarist Brian to join us. None of the three of us had ever played together in any configuration, and we didn’t have any pre-planned songs. The idea was to simply set up, plug in, and start playing. Brian had a few riffs, and I had a couple, but riffs alone don’t make full songs. We played in Jeff’s basement, and he hung a single microphone to record “whatever came out.”

Here’s the neat thing. Even though we had never played together before, we were quite tight, and although we had no songs, they self-assembled themselves as we played, and so quickly that the recorded product, with no editing, sounded rather cohesive, resulting in an 8-song recording. I played it for some people, and everyone was amazed at how rehearsed it sounded. I repeat … the three of us had never played together. I was impressed at how well we were able to read each other in real time. I am very accustomed to rehearsing songs to death before even considering pressing the Record button. Even better is that the sound quality of the recording came out pretty good! We never got together to jam again, so it was a one-day affair. My sister-in-law had the best reaction after hearing the CD: “I can’t believe this band doesn’t exist!”

Have a taste: http://www.circlerun.com/wp/PBJ1.mp3

Leave a Reply

