Contribution – The Brandos (1999)

Posted: June 26, 2013 in Music
Tags: , , , , ,

I bet, if I didn’t already introduce them to you (and you’re not my brother), you’ve never heard of The Brandos. Not sure how this fabulous band has flown under the radar for decades, but what good songwriting and musicianship. I first heard them in 1987 when my brother got hold of their album Honor Among Thieves. He played the song Gettysburg to death, but it never got past the point of enjoyment. I found out in 2003 or so that they had released a greatest hits collection called Contribution, and I hadn’t ever owned a copy of Gettysburg, so I gambled and bought the album.

No regrets whatsoever! A great listen from beginning to end. And the first song sports some amazing unaccompanied harmonies that only a fool would scoff at. A 15 year span of music is covered, and there’s a nice variety of styles, though they don’t stray too far from their basic rock roots. I loved Contribution so much that I bought copies for my friends that Christmas. Yes, it’s that good.

Contribution is not available to share online, but Honor Among Thieves is, so give them a spin. Contribution can be ordered online right here.

Honor Among Thieves

Gettysburg Video

brandos

Comments
  1. Suspicious Chihuahua says:

    The amazing thing about The Brandos is that their music is timeless. Gettysburg as a song still sounds as fresh today as it did in 1987 (the recording is a touch dated) and I can still listen to it over and over without tiring of it. Seeing them on stage one day is definitely on my bucket list.

    Contribution is loaded with win front to back, however, these are my absolute favs:

    Hallowed Ground
    Gettysburg
    Partners
    The Solution
    The Warrior’s Son

Leave a Reply

