A Brush with Fame – Episode 3: Glen Phillips (Toad the Wet Sprocket)

Posted: August 10, 2013 in Music, Storytime
Tags: , , , ,

Like many people, I discovered Toad the Wet Sprocket when their third album Fear became a hit, home to the songs All I Want and Walk on the Ocean. I’ve been a fan ever since, and I’ve seen them in concert three times. I’ve also gone to see Glen Phillips three or four times. He was the lead singer for Toad, and he played both his and Toad’s material at his shows.

While Toad shows were always the standard band-on-stage, crowd-on-the-floor setup, Glen’s shows were more intimate. He interacted with the audience during his shows, and afterward, he would mingle with everyone and do a fairly self-managed meet and greet. Every time I went to a show, I wanted to just shake his hand and thank him for the songs and memories. Never one in need of an autograph, instead I gave him copies of my music every time I had something new to offer. Not sure if my CDs occupy a space on his shelf, but that’s his call. I did ask for a picture one time, and here you have it.

fatglen2

Leave a Reply

