Hey Jealousy

Posted: August 29, 2013 in Music, Storytime
Tags: , , , , ,

Among my friends, it’s no mystery that my friend Dave and I did a “video karaoke” kinda thing at King’s Dominion (Virginia) back in 1994. This was prior to my being in any band at all (I barely knew how to play guitar at that point). Instead of karaoke, where one sings to the background music, we acted out the visual portion of the performance while the song played. I remember that the guy running the booth was so impressed with the results (or laughed his ass off at our antics) that he decided to showcase our video outside the booth, on the monitors that are supposed to entice you to come in and try it yourself. Dave never seemed too thrilled about the video, but I happen to be a big fan. If you like mullets and invisible shorts, come along for a ride.

You can see that I was taking the video rather seriously, and Dave appeared to as well … at first. Then he went all Paul Simon’s You Can Call Me Al on me (Paul is tring to make a serious video, and Chevy Chase is goofing around on him). He switched from drums to guitar in the middle and then danced around. I think we hit on just the right combination of serious and fun. We even shook hands toward the end while the music magically kept playing.

Note: Ever since I failed to wiggle my butt even once while lip synching Faith by George Michael in high school at a talent contest, I had been seeking redemption. Twice I shook my ass for that camera, but both times the guy quickly panned away. No sense of art, I tell ya.

Click here to watch the video.

jealousy

Comments
  1. Priya says:

    Liked the blog title 🙂 and 1000+ views on YouTube, really ?

  2. Epiphora says:

    This video has been up for a long time – took me years to get 1000 views.

  3. Dave says:

    980 of those views are from Dan

Leave a Reply

