Music – Can’t Live Without It

Posted: September 29, 2013 in Music, Storytime
Tags: , ,

I went to college in the fall of 1989. In the spring of 1991, toward the end of my sophomore year, it was time to consider a summer job. Like any college, UNH had its share of job fairs, where any student could go to see what opportunities were available. The one thing I thought would be most interesting (in my 19 year old wisdom) was to be a camp counselor at a summer youth camp. Those who know me today would wonder why this would ever cross my mind, but at age 19, I hadn’t made many life decisions yet.

The position obviously required working with kids, as well as staying at the camp all summer long. These things didn’t faze me nearly as much as one other item … I would not be able to listen to my own music for an entire summer. Yes, these were the days long before iPods and cheap portable music. I never even owned a Walkman, and for some reason figured that I couldn’t afford a cheap portable CD player in 1991. I also thought that the rigors of summer camp would keep me busy enough that I would never even get the chance to relax and listen. And maybe that would have been true. What I *do* know is that I didn’t give it a second thought. I walked away.

In the summer of 1991, I ended up working at Burger King, which wasn’t so bad. I made some new friends and was able to crank up the tunes in the car for the 45 minute ride to work and back every day. Musically, that was an awesome summer.

no_music__no_life_by_ristiii

Leave a Reply

