Not Music Related – Lack of Faith and Foresight

Posted: October 6, 2013 in Non-Music, Storytime
Tags: , , , , ,

In 1996, I went on a west coast road trip with my friend Dave. While we were enjoying a morning movie in the form of The Next Karate Kid on the Motel 6 TV, I decided to peruse the job openings in the local paper. I lived in Massachusetts at the time and had been contemplating a move to the Bay Area. One of the positions was for quality assurance of a new technology that would help you track your geographical location based on wireless satellite communications. My reaction was “Pfbllt! It’ll never work.”

My first experience with anything wireless (beyond the TV remote) was a cell phone, waaay back in the early 90s. My friend Gary called me on a cell phone from his car, and within 15 seconds, the call dropped – he basically had time to tell me that he was calling from a cell phone, and whoa, how cool. I saw no significant improvement in cell phone technology by 1996 (probably because I didn’t care and was trying to avoid it), so I gave the job a thumbs down. Little did I know that I was turning up my nose to an engineering position with a company whose product can now be found on most phones and in most cars – a GPS.

Sigh.

Wireless_access_point

Comments
  1. Dave Weber says:

    I had a very similar reaction to the idea of a camera phone

  2. Epiphora says:

    IBM had a policy that no cameras were allowed in the office, fearing that people might take pictures of code on the screen (like I’m so interested in IBM code). When cameras became part of cell phones, they certainly struggled with that one.

Leave a Reply

