Disco Mondegreen – Let’s Groove!

Posted: November 16, 2013 in Music, Storytime
Tags: , , , , , , ,

As a child in the 70s, I could easily blame my lack of vocabulary and crappy radio reception for misheard lyrics, but this one stayed with me into my 40s, where I now enjoy a much stronger vocabulary and the crystal clarity of digital audio. The song in question is Let’s Groove by Earth, Wind, & Fire.

After the robotic voice intro, they break into the verse with “Let this groove …” do this thing and “let this groove …” do that thing. I’m not a foodie, but I always thought they said “Breakfast groove.” It’s my happy morning song as I’m crunching on cereal and bopping to one kick-ass bass line.

Why grow up?

funny_egg_picture_37

Leave a Reply

